From the Mountaintop

photo-1428954376791-d9ae785dfb2d

 

During my life, I have spent more than my fair share of time in the valley. Fortunately, I have also spent some awesome times at the peaks as well as some a lot of climbing times either up or down.

The valley can be so dark. There are shadows at every turn. While there can be safety and shelter from the storms and heat of the day, there is also a very limited view. There is only so far that you can go before you hit a barrier or you aren’t able to see where you are going because the mountains are on either side of you. You can also be trapped in a valley for anyone who would want to attack from the top.

When you’re going through really rough times or trying to sort through those rough times to come to terms with them, it’s hard to see past all the pain and confusion. It is so important to work through the pain in life and come out on the other side having learned from the experience and, hopefully, come out better for it.

The thing is, if you stay in the valleys all the time, not wanting to climb out because it is what you know, you get very comfortable. Life can be ok in the valley. If you stay where you’re comfortable and with what you know, you can still make a difference in the world and you can have a good life. God may even tell you to spend some time in the valley. But, what if you started a trip up the mountains, maybe even just for a vacation? What if you decided to see what was on the other side? You may not even decide to go down the other side, but what could you possibly see that could change your direction and even bring joy to you and others?

When I have made it to the tops of hills, dunes and even mountains, the views are usually breathtaking. From the top, you can see amazing sunrises and sunsets, whole landscapes of scenery and even places you’d like to visit or an adventure you’d like to take. Dreams can begin or come true at the top of the mountain. While we can’t always live on the mountaintop, we all do reach it many times in our lives. You feel a sense of freedom, hope and achievement at the top. It’s like the whole world is at your feet and the opportunities are endless.

However, we mostly live in the trips up and down the mountain. This is where we work towards achieving our goals, raise our children, focus on our careers, build our homes, start a ministry and so on. There’s a lot of work involved in coming up and down the mountain. You run into a lot of obstacles, experience so many new sights and sounds as well as make camp and live during the journey.

Beauty and purpose can be found in all of the areas of the journey. Even the hard times can bring such beauty. At this point, I hope to show all these aspects to anyone who has gotten stuck in the valley and wants to reach the mountaintop. I also want to help others realize they can discover their dream and the purpose(s) for which they’ve been put on this earth. I am on this journey now and chronicling the positives and negatives that take me closer to where He wants me. I hope to pass along the lessons learned along the way so, maybe, it will be easier for others along their journey.

 

19 thoughts on “From the Mountaintop

  1. Beautifully written! You put it into words perfectly. You have a lovely site and I really enjoyed reading your post. I loved the part about staying in the valleys out of comfort…. so true. 🙂 Have a great evening!

  2. I liked when you said that we actually live in the trips on the mountain. We all have been on a top but when we are their we should remember that this is just a phase and not a permanent things. Our journey on the contrary is what must excite us.

  3. Incredible post. Thank you for sharing. I’m following your blog since I have truly enjoyed the stuff you put up here.
    Thank u for sharing.

    Gratitude, Fatma

    • Thank you, Fatma. I’m so sorry I’m so late in replying back to you now. My world has been a little overwhelming lately. I hope you will decide to follow my blog again. It doesn’t show that you are following now.

      • 😊

        I haven’t browse your affairs entirely. Gimme sometime. Lemme just read your articles. I will let u know, my likings by likes I put up there. Then I would like to review them. I hope my move is generous and I hope I can make you happy. I love it when people ask me to review their article, and spare sometime to their blog(s). It’s so humble from you. I appreciate it. You’re an effortless writer.

        See you!

  4. And I’m quite following your blog. I love your flexibility, incredibility & aliveness. I love what u write & share. You have a unique taste & a wonderful combination of thoughts & words. Thank u so much for allowing me to do this. Thank u for allowing me be a member of your followers club.

    Gratitude, Fatma

  5. This is lovely, I love nature, refreshing scenery, and you seemed to have visited such a place which sounds great.
    Nature is soothing and spending quality time with it helps sometimes with creativity too.

    Thank you.

Leave a comment